It’s come to that time of year when we are all thinking about what to dress up as this year. I do know that there are many people who poo-poo the eerie festivities but, if I’m honest, I will use any excuse to break out the face-paints and a bit of a creative streak.

Because, you know, ‘normal’ makeup is all well and good but there is only one time of year, only a few occasions, when you have an excuse to paint yourself as a pumpkin or some undead creature.

Alas, here is my look from last year. Luckily for me, there was a special presentation of ‘The Rocky Horror Picture Show’ and, of course, I decided to go as Magenta. (Though I was the only one in my group to be in costume, they are clearly too dull for my liking!)

This is her:

Image

This is moi:

Image

(Excuse the smudged lipstick, beer had been involved by this time.)

For this look, it’s all about the pale skin and VERY non-blended red/wine coloured eye shadows. Because I’m a tad on the wild side with my makeup, I already had most of these colours, but they are easy to pick up on the high street. (The main red eyeshadow I used was a pretty cheap Rimmel one.)

I won’t describe how I did it, just that I pretty much did, step-by-step, Pixiwoo’s wonderful Magenta makeup tutorial here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOTYgJYNFl0 (I have mentioned them in previous blogs and, well, I love them.)

Hair was done using Charles Worthington Salt Spray, Elnett Hairspray, got2b Beach Matte Paste, curling tongs and a backcomb. The hair fell out of place after a while, unfortunately, but I’m sure a better curling tongs may be able to create curls that would hold. (Or a wig, whichever you would prefer.)

Outfit:

Image

I made the outfit by taking an old black shirt-dress and doing a bit of sewing, to achieve the white collar and cuffs. Also sewed together a bit of old lace I picked up in a material shop to make the little hat. A white apron and fishnet tights completed the look.

Hope you enjoyed this! It took a bit of work but, you know, it’s once a year – if you’re gonna do it, do it right!

