In September, Rimmel’s usual matte foundation offering was replaced with the new ‘Stay Matte Liquid Mousse Foundation’.  My eye was caught first by the sleek but simple white and purple packaging. I was then intrigued further by the light shades on offer. To be honest, I have always avoided Rimmel foundations due to the fact that if you’re anything like me (a shade paler than Casper) it didn’t seem to cater for my needs, unless I was in the mood for looking a bit oompa loompa-ish that day.

stay-matte_product

Here’s what Rimmel says about the product –

A Feather-light, liquid mousse that blends flawlessly for natural-looking and an all day shine control
Silky smooth formula for a perfectly matte, baby-soft finish.
Lightweight texture won’t feel heavy or greasy.
Minimises the appearance of pores

I’ve got to say, it really does deliver and I was pleasantly surprised by that. I’m pretty used to using foundations that are designed to stay all day, and this lasted just as long as some of them, if not better. My skin probably isn’t as oily as it can be and I’m slightly dry around my nose area, so I probably can’t speak for those who have a more, er, lubricated face, but I was able to wear this foundation without powder and it stayed put through several hours of wear ; sustaining through the elements as I went about my day to day business.

For longer wear, I would recommend a powder, but only a light hand would be needed. In terms of coverage, with this product a little goes a long way. With one layer too many I could imagine it easily caking considering the mousy texture, so a concealer would still be necessary if you are particularly blemished. In terms of application, I actually prefer to apply this with my hands because of the consistency. With my usual go- to Mac 190 foundation brush it just took a lot longer because it caused the moussey texture to drag a bit, making it harder to blend.

I got this in Ivory, which would generally be perhaps half a shade too dark for me, however it’s perfect for my lingering “tan” from summer (like I said, I’m a shade paler than pale – me with a tan is basically typical Caucasian person skin). I was pleasantly surprised to discover that there is a lighter shade called Light Ivory (that for some reason wasn’t available at my local Superdrug, GET WITH THE PROGRAMME GUYS), which has my winter skin tone rejoicing in advance.  Unfortunately for darker skinned ladies, this won’t be catering for you as at the moment there are only 5 shades available.

If you’re looking for a long-wearing, mattifying foundation on the lighter shade of the colour spectrum, you can’t go wrong with this, especially for only €7.99.

